K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated
for from
to
 
Shop Artscroll and support Kashrut.com
 

Consumer Kashrut Alerts

The following Yoshon information regarding gluten-free foods is from the the Rabbi Yoseph Herman on June 24, 2013.

Contrary to popular belief, even gluten-free foods require Yoshon certification.

  • Oats are gluten free unless they are contaminated by other source of gluten. According to FDA government standards, items may be labeled “gluten free” so long as they contain less that 20 parts per million of gluten. In fact it is possible to purchase gluten-free wheat flour (!) from which the gluten has been chemically reduced below the FDA limit.
  • Gluten is only one component of grains such as wheat. Other wheat-derived components which may be free of gluten may be used in some foods.

Oats and wheat, of course, may be Chodosh after the new harvest starts. Therefore, do not assume that "gluten free" automatically means "Yoshon".

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4255

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts in hardcopy print media if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2018 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067