K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated
for from
to
 
Shop Artscroll and support Kashrut.com
 

Consumer Kashrut Alerts

KELLOGG’S CEREALS CLARIFICATION

October 17, 2017 - From COR Detroit:

As stated in the 9/19/17 Kashrus Alerts, Kellogg’s cereals that bear a K are now OU certified, except for Kellogg's Mini-Wheats Unfrosted Cereal, which is not OU certified even when the package bears a K. Please note that some Kellogg’s cereals, including Frosted Mini-Wheats and several others, do not bear a K and have never been certified Kosher, and they remain non-Kosher.Kellogs items currently certified KVH Kosher DON'T contain gelatin and have a K.


Kashrus advisory - Kellogg's Products containing gelatin & interesting story on gelatin in Kellogg's products

August 10, 2017 - From KVH Kosher twitter feed:

Kellogs items currently certified KVH Kosher DON'T contain gelatin and have a K indicating kosher. Kellogs items with gelatin are NOT certified as kosher.

Interesting story that goes with the above advisory:
Hindu leader slams Kellogg’s for not disclosing beef gelatin

August 16, 2017 from FoodSafety.com:

"Rajan Zed, president of the Universal Society of Hinduism (USofH), is calling out Kellogg’s CEO John A. Bryant for failing to disclose that some of the company’s cereals contain beef-based gelatin."
"Zed says the world’s 1 billion Hindus were shocked to learn that some of the Kellogg’s cereals they’ve been eating for years without concern, in fact, contained beef-based gelatin, which is not disclosed on packaging or labels." "Gelatin is a protein made from the skins and bones of pigs and cows. It’s a common ingredient in many products. Hindu religion prohibits followers from eating meat from cows."
"Kellogg’s has confirmed that beef-based gelatin is an ingredient in all varieties of Kellogg’s Frosted Pop-Tarts, Kellogg’s Frosted Mini-Wheats and Kellogg’s Rice Krispies Treats cereal. All Kellogg’s fruit flavored snacks and all Kellogg’s Krave Treat Bars contain either pork or beef-based gelatin."

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A6030

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts in hardcopy print media if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067