K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated
for from

Kosher News and Announcements

Newer alerts
The following information was received by e-mail from the Orthodox Union on July 17, 1998.

Starkist ceased producing tuna with a dairy component in February 1997.  All Starkist tuna is presently produced without any dairy ingredients and is thus Pareve.  This includes both the "albacore" and "light" varieties.  To reflect this change, Starkist has recently reprinted labels with only the OU designation indicating Pareve.  There are currently, however, many Starkist tuna cans which still bear OUD.   The Company has been depleting a large quantity of OUD labels still in stock and using them on Pareve products. Any Starkist tuna can with a code that ends with the letter F and the three numerical digits are greater than 057 (e.g. 153F), or the code ends with a letter that is beyond F in the alphabet (e.g. 012G or 023H), contains product which is Pareve.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0025
The following information was received by fax from the Orthodox Union on June 12, 1998.

Ken's Steak House Fat Free Raspberry Dressing bears an OU symbol on the front label and an OU-D on the back label. This product is in fact OU pareve. Ken's Foods apologizes for any inconvenience this may have caused.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0024
The following information was received by fax from the Orthodox Union on June 12, 1998.

Effective August, 1998, Bacos Bits and Bacos manufactured by General Mills are being reformulated from Pareve to Dairy. The packaging will reflect the change in status.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0023
The following information was communicated by the Orthodox Union on March 19, 1998 in response to a reader's question.

Mrs. Freshley's Cupcakes bearing an OU-D and gelatin in the ingredient list are mislabeled. These products are certified as kosher by the Orthodox Union and do not contain gelatin.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0022
The following information was received by fax from the Orthodox Union on March 5, 1998

The Hershey Chocolate Company has announced that it will reformulate its Special Dark Chocolate bar to include dairy components. This product's change of status will be reflected on packaging with the incorporation of the OU-D designation.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0021
The following information is reprinted with permission from the February, 1998 KEEPING YOU KURRENT published by the Star K.

Please be aware that Nabisco cookie products and M&M/Mars candy products are Kosher Dairy certified by the OU only when the OUD appears on the packaging.

Vitarroz Spaghetti Sauce Salsa De Spaghetti bears an OU pareve. The ingredient panel mistakenly lists beef stock as an ingredient.

General Mills Brand French Toast Crunch Cereal is OU certified even though no OU appears on the label due to an inclusion of a non kosher Bazooka Gum in the package.

Fruit juice blends and fruit juice drinks can be sweetened with white grape juice and therefore natural juice beverages require a reliable hechsher.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0020
The following information has been received from the Orthodox Union and posted on December 19, 1997
Many Nabisco products are now certified as kosher by the Orthodox Union when carrying an OU or OU-D.
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0019
The following information has been received from the Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis on December 5, 1997
Due to a change in packaging the OV-D symbol on Ann Raskas Candies was inadvertently omitted.At present, Ann Raskas Candies are under the Kosher supervision of the Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis even when not bearing an OV-D on the packaging.
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0018
The following information was in newspaper advertisements on November 28, 1997.
Maxi Health Research, Inc. is no longer certified by the Organized Kashruth Laboratories. It is,  however, certified as kosher by Rabbi Dovid Kraus, Udvari Supervision of America.
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0017
The following information has been reprinted with permission  from The Kosher Gram,  Rabbi Beryl Broyde of the Vaad Horabonim/Merkaz of Detroit for October, 1997
Quaker Cereals: Cap'n Crunch's Crunch Berries cereal is now kosher and is certified OU Dairy when bearing the OU-D symbol. Cap'n Crunch's regular and Peanut Butter varieties are OU pareve.  Some boxes of Cap'n Crunch regular andCrunch Berries varieties do not bear an OU or OU-D, due to non-approved samples of Cap'n Crunch  Bars inside. The cereals themselves are  still kosher. -King Vitamin cereal is now Kosher and dairy, when bearing OU-D.

General Mills Cereals:Honey Nut Clusters bear an OU-D and contain non-fat  milk. This replaces the former pareve Clusters Cereal. Honey Nut Cheerio's remain OU Pareve. Some boxes of Trix Cereal bear no OU, because they contain a sample of non-approved Trix Fruit Snacks. The cereal itself remains kosher.

Betty Crocker Fruit Snacks All varieties of Fruit Roll-Ups, Fruit by the Foot, Gushers, and String Things, are currently OU certified Kosher and Pareve. Some boxes of Fruit Roll Ups Variety Pack- 36 rolls mistakenly bear no OU, but are still Kosher. Likewise, the first boxes of Fruit by the Foot's new Berry Tie flavor do not bear an OU. Please note that the following Betty Crocker Fruit Snacks are not Kosher approved and do not bear an OU: Bugs Bunny & Friends Snacks, Shark Bites Snacks and Tazmanian Devil Snacks.

Betty Crocker Cake Mixes: are now all Dairy. This includes Pound Cake Mix and three varieties of Angel Food Cake Mix which were recently reformulated with dairy ingredients. Old boxes still bearing a plain OU are pareve.

Celestial Seasonings Liquid Teas are not kosher approved and bear no kashrus markings.
World Harbors Honey Dijon Sauce & Marinade "For Seafood & Chicken, and World Harbors "Hot Zings (Wing)" Sauce & Marinade- Although obviously intended for meat use, these products have until now contained dariy ingredients and are labeled Kof-K DAIRY. The manufacturer is now eliminating the dairy ingredients, at the Kof-K's request, and the new product will be labeled Kof-K PAREVE.
Ed. note per communication with World Harbors (June 30, 1998): These products should now only be available as pareve. Any dairy product is out of code and should not be used.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0016
Older alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.
Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2018 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067