K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


The following Passover alert is from the COR Detroit on March 21, 2012.

KITNIYOS (legumes) such as corn, beans, peas and rice, may not be eaten by Ashkenazim on Pesach. Sefardim who use these products must ascertain that they contain no additives (such as vitamins), and must carefully check them before Pesach for extraneous matter. There are a number of "Kosher for Pesach" products on the market that contain kitniyos, and are acceptable only for Sephardim. Many of these products will state on the label (often in Hebrew) that the item is to be used only by those whose custom allows for the use of kitniyos.

KITNIYOS DERIVATIVES - Those who follow the prevalent custom of not using any derivatives of kitniyos (legumes) on Pesach, such as corn oil, corn syrup, dextrose, soybean oil and lecithin, should be aware that some products with Kosher for Pesach certifications do contain one or more of these ingredients. This applies especially to imported candies and chocolates. A careful check of the ingredients should be made. (Lecithin is sometimes listed just as “emulsifier”, and corn syrup as “glucose”.)

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0312

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067