K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


The South African Passover notice is from the Beth Din of Johannesburg on April 1, 2015.

APPROVED BABY CEREALS
Preferably one should use baby cereal that is Kosher for Pesach.
If the above is not available then the following, although containing Kitniyot, may be used for babies only. However they should be used in separate vessels with separate utensils and washing-up facilities (that will not be used with Kosher for Pesach food items and utensils).

  • CERELAC CARROT & SPINACH (MILCHIK)
  • CERELACHONEY (MILCHIK)
  • CERELACMAIZE (MILCHIK)
  • CERELACRICE (MILCHIK)
  • NESTUM HONEY
  • NESTUM MAIZE
  • NESTUM RICE
  • NESTUM STRAWBERRY & BANANA
There is no Kosher for Pesach baby cereal locally produced.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0435

The following Passover information is from the Atlanta Kashruth Commission on April 1, 2015.

Raw Turbinado Sugar does not require KFP.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0434

The following Passover information is from the Atlanta Kashruth Commission on April 1, 2015.

Milk for Passover: It is preferable to use Kosher for Passover (KFP) milk, but any milk may be used if purchased BEFORE Passover.
Kroger Brand unflavored milk (Homogenized (whole) milk, 2%, 1%, Skim milk) bearing plant #13-250, the letters “AKC-P” on the inkjet of the container and an expiration date of APRIL 4 – APRIL 29 is Kosher for Passover.

Juice for Passover: Kroger Brand Orange Juice without Calcium, bearing plant #13-250, the letters “AKC-P” on the inkjet of the container, and an expiration date of APRIL 14 – MAY 15.

Atlanta Fresh Heavy Whipping Cream from Atlanta Fresh Artesian Creamery with an AKC (at Whole Foods) is acceptable for Passover.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0427

The following Passover information on nuts posted on April 2, 2015.

From the Scroll-K: Midget Pecans and Pecan Pieces are soaked in an alcohol bath to remove insects. These pieces should NOT be used for Pesach. Whole and half pecans can be produced "Kosher for Passover".

From the cRc: Whole, slivered, or chopped nuts are acceptable without Passover Certification whether in or out of the shell, except if they are (a) blanched or roasted (all varieties), (b) finely ground into a powder, such as almond flour, (c) contain BHT or BHA, (d) shelled pecans (all varieties), or (e) peanuts (which are kitnios).

From the OU: Raw nuts in their shell do not require Passover certification.
Shelled nuts that list BHA or BHT (preservatives) in the ingredients require special Passover certification. They are sprayed on the nuts using corn derivatives (kitniyot). If no additives are added, they may be used without special Passover certification.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0431

The following Passover information is from the cRc on April 1, 2015.

Antibiotics, all forms (liquids included) are Acceptable for Passover without Passover Certification.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0433

The following Passover alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Toasters and toaster-ovens: Manufacturers of toasters and toaster-ovens (and those who repair them) check their products with bread. It is recommended that when buying or repairing toasters or toaster ovens, one should check visually for actual bread particles. For toasters, clean the metal bread holder and the crumb tray, and place the toaster on the toasting cycle. Toaster ovens need only koshering of the tray insert. Thorough koshering of the tray may warp it. The recommended methods are to turn on the toasting cycle or to do the same while the tray is filled with water. Toasters and toaster-ovens known to have been used for Chometz CANNOT be koshered for Pesach. Just clean and put away.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0429

The following Passover alert is from the Seattle Vaad on March 31, 2015.

Bottles of Glicks Teryaki Sauce included in Passover orders filled by Affordable Kosher are NOT kosher for Passover and contain real chametz. Any food prepared using this product should not be used on Passover. Please consult your Rabbi to advise you as to the status of the utensils in which this product may have been used.
As always, the Vaad advises the consumer to check every product used for Passover to ascertain its status as Kosher for Passover even if it comes from a vendor as part of a Passover order or is in a Kosher for Passover display in a grocery store.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0432

The following Passover alert is from Kosherquest.org posted on March 31, 2015.

Lactaid drops may contain Chometz. Therefore, they should be added to milk before Pesach to have the Chometz annulled in sixty times the amount of milk, applesauce etc.
Lactaid Drops - (NOT Tablets) If needed, it must be added to milk or other dairy products before Pesach.
Lactaid Milk - Must be purchased before Pesach (may contain small amount of actual Chometz)
Lactaid tablets may contain Chometz.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0430

The following Passover alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Tofu: Tofu is NOT acceptable for Pesach even for Sefaradim. Tofu is made by an extraction method that uses grain alcohol in the processing of soybeans.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0428

The following Passover kashrus alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Honey imported from Turkey and China: Honey imported from Turkey, even when bearing a kosher symbol, should be suspected all year round for adulteration. For Pesach, it should NOT be used without proper "Kosher for Pesach" certification. One brand of "honey" from turkey was found to contain 100% corn or cane syrup – no honey whatsoever in the product! The kosher certification displayed was unauthorized. Honey from China should also be avoided.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0426
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2014 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067