K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kosher Food Alerts


Newer Passover Alerts

The following Passover alert is from the Kosherquest.org on March 2, 2014.

Affula Sunflower Seeds have a "Kosher for Passover" designation, when, in fact, they are Kitniyos and intended for use only by those Sephardim who have the minhag to eat Kitniyos.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0378

The following Passover advisory the OU on March 19, 2014.

The OU recommends Nestea Instant Tea – caffeinated version only – for use on Pesach.

The OU does not recommend the decaffeinated version of this product during Pesach.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0376

The following Passover information regarding fish is from the OU and Kof-K on March 11, 2014.

The following fish products are usable without Passover certification

  • OU: Kirkland Frozen Wild Salmon following rinsing with water
  • OU: Kirkland: Frozen Atlantic Salmon
  • C. WIRTHY & CO. ATLANTIC SALMON FROZEN FILLETS (plain unseasoned, raw) bearing a Kof-K and stating Product of Chile is Kosher for Pesach.
  • FISHIN brand FROZEN WHITING FILLETS (plain unseasoned, raw) bearing a Kof-K and stating Product of Chile is Kosher for Pesach.
  • Plain Pillar Rock Salmon (cRc)

From the cRc: Fresh Fish: Acceptable without Passover Certification. One should wash the fish well in cold water before use.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0373

The following Passover alert is from the editor on March 6, 2014.

There are two kinds of gluten-free matzos on the market:

  • The gluten-free oat matzos or spelt matzos with Pesach certification are usable for Hamotzei and for the seder. (People who need this should ask their rabbi.)
  • The products on the market that does not contain any of the 5 grains, wheat, barley, oats, rye or spelt are not matzah and cannot be used for Seder Matzos or Hamotzie. The Bracha is Shehakol.
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0372

The following Passover alert is from the Kof-K on January 29, 2007, March 25, 2008, March 15, 2009, March 3,2010, March 31, 2011 and March 13, 2012, February 27, 2013 and March 5,2014.
Joyva products are normally under the supervision of the Kof-K during the year. However, the Kof-K DOES NOT supervise any Joyva products for Passover because they may contain kitniot.

The following Passover alert is from the Dallas-K on March 4,2010.
JOYVA products certified by Rabbi David Sheinkoff are NOT recommended for Passover use even when marked K for P.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0160

The following Passover alert is is from COR Detroit and additional alert from the editor posted on March 14, 2013 and reposted March 5, 2014 and reposted March 5, 2014.

There are numerous instances, even in Jewish stores, of non-Pesach products mistakenly being mixed in with Pesach products, usually because their labels are almost identical. This occurs frequently with Telma soup mixes and cubes, Lieber’s Coat ‘n Bake coatings, various brands of frozen chopped liver and kishke, and Osem, Gefen, Haddar, Manischewitz, Empire and other brands of products that have both Pesach and non-Pesach versions of the same products with similar labels. Storekeepers, likewise, should not take for granted that everything received in their Pesach shipment, even from a Jewish distributor, is indeed Pesach certified; non-Pesach products are frequently inadvertently mixed in. There have also been instances where the outsides of cases were marked Kosher for Pesach, but the products inside were not. Each individual label must always be checked for Pesach certification.

In addition, there are many supermarkets, websites, stores, caterers, and restaurants that are advertising "Passover" products or seders that are not kosher or kosher for Passover.

NON-kosher shankbones are being offered at local supermarkets, often placed in the Kosher Meat section right next to the kosher meat and chicken. While the supermarkets may mean well, this is seriously misleading to the kosher consumer. In one local supermarket the meat department thought that the halal marking in Arabic meant that the shank bones were kosher.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0370

The following Passover health alert is is from greenspun.com'> and bafblog posted on March 18, 2013 and reposted March 5, 2014.

"Potatoes wrapped in tinfoil, baked, and then held at room temperature can create the perfect conditions for Clostridium botulinum problems."

Ed. note: Keep the potatoes hot or cold to prevent bacterial growth.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0371

The following Passover alert is from the Kosherquest.org on February 21, 2014.

Dairy foods can pose a problem for Pesach use due to the prevalence of enzymes, stabilizers, flavors and vitamins which are made from Chometz and Kitniyos and are present in most dairy products. Therefore, dairy products require a reliable Passover certification for Passover use.
Plain whole, low-fat and skim milk (fresh, not long shelf-life items) may be purchased before Passover without special certification for Passover. However, it is proper not to purchase milk during Passover unless reliably certified for Passover.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0368

The following Passover information on Pet foods is from the Kosherquest.org on February 23, 2014.

Pet food ingredients can often change from year to year as Pet Food companies change and adjust their standards.

Some commonly listed items found on pet food ingredient panels that are NOT acceptable for Pesach are:
Wheat (cracked, flour, germ, gluten, ground, grouts, middlings, starch), Barley (cracked, flour), Oats (flour, grouts, hulled), Pasta, Rye, Xanthan Gum and Brewer's dried Yeast.

Some of the more popular pet (dog/cat) foods that most often contain Chometz are:
Alpo
Beneful
Pedigree
Purina
Science Diet Dog Food

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0369

The following Passover alert is from the Kof-K on February 27, 2014.

A limited quantity of Streit's Fried Rice Mix mistakenly bear the Kof-K Passover Symbol. This is product is not certified for PASSOVER and contains chometz. The product is being recalled from the Marketplace. If the product is seen displayed for sale please contact the Kof-K office.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0367
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2014 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067