K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


Newer Passover Alerts

The following Passover information is from the Star-K Keeping You Kurrent for Pesach 2003.

All Krazy Glue, Elmer's Glue, Ross Glue and Scrbbles Puff Paints are chometz free.

Elmer's and Ross Finger Paints contain a wheat derivative and should be sold with chometz before Pesach.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0069

The following Passover alert is from the Orthodox Union on March 28, 2003.

Fresh & Go Toothbrush with Toothpaste, Fresh & Go, Wheeling, IL;
A limited amount of this product bears an unauthorized OU-P. Consumers spotting this product should please contact the Orthodox Union at 212-613-8248.
While many authorities maintain that toothpaste does not need kosher certification for year round use, Passover use requires additional stringencies. It is our understanding that this product is not recommended for Passover use.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0068

The following is is from the Chicago Rabbinical Council on March 26, 2003.

Sodas certified by the cRc for Pesach will bear the cRc symbol with a P-03 next to it. Some Pesach certified labels may list "corn syrup and/or sugar" on the label. The bottling company prints labels in this manner to allow the same label to be used year-round. All cRc Pesach certified product are free of any kitniyos.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0067

There are a number of Kosher for Passover products on the market that contain Kitniot and are therefore acceptable for Sephardim and not Ashkenazim. Many of these products will say "LeOchlay Kitniyos".

The following is a kitniot Passover alert:

The following Ethnic Delights products distributed by Aron Streit's Co. , product of Israel, state the following on the lid, Kosher for Passover, contain Kitniot:

    Pesto Sauce, Garlic Aioli with Dill, Sundried Tomotato Morsels, Olive Spread
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0066

The following Passover alert is from the Orthodox Union on March 6, 2003.

Daddy Ray's Fig Bars, Apple Bars & Strawberry Bars, Daddy Ray's Moscow Mills, MO;
Product with English/Spanish label mistakenly bears an OU-P symbol. The product is only certified as OU Pareve for year-round use and is NOT Kosher For Passover.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0065

The Passover alert is from the Kof-K on February 3, 2003.

The KOF-K provides its kosher certification to all products manufactured by JOYVA for year-round use EXCEPT for Passover. The KOF-K does not certify or supervise anything manufactured by JOYVA as Kosher for Passover because of their use of cornstarch and corn syrup in their production.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0064

THE ALERTS THAT ARE BELOW THIS ARE FROM 2002. SOME OF THESE PRODUCTS MIGHT BE AROUND DUE TO A LONG SHELF LIFE OR THE PROBLEMS INVOLVED ARE STILL RELEVENT.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0063

THE ALERTS THAT ARE BELOW THIS ARE FROM 2002. SOME OF THESE PRODUCTS MIGHT BE AROUND DUE TO A LONG SHELF LIFE OR THE PROBLEMS INVOLVED ARE STILL RELEVENT.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0063.

Ed note: Check that products advetised for Passover are actually certified Kosher for Passover (and by agencies that meet your standards.). I have seen (or readers have informed me) of a number of products advertised or listed for Passover that were not certifed as kosher for Passover. The following are some examples:

  • Mrsbeasleys.com is advertising Passover baskets that are kosher but not kosher for Passover
  • Specialty Food News listed potato Vodkas that were under the OU as being usable for Passover. These products are NOT usable for Passover. Alcoholic beverage products need to be certified as kosher for Passover.
  • A local supermarket advertised Passover baking. The products were certified as kosher, but not kosher for Passover. They also advertised Passover foods that were not kosher at all.
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0062

The following Passover clarification was from the Star-K in response to a reader's question on March 26, 2002

Dole coleslaw bags are kosher for Pesach with the Star-K and with or without the P.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0061
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067