K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated
for from
to
 
Shop Artscroll and support Kashrut.com
 
Newer alerts

The following kashrus alert is from the Israeli Chief Rabbinate and translated by Google on on December 8, 2014.

In preparation for Chanuka the Israeli government tested olive oils to see if the met the Israeli government standard for olive oils. They listed oils that contained olive oil that meet the standards as well as adulterated and fraudulent olive oils that contained other oils. The fraudulent olive oil could contain Orla, Shmita, non-passover, tevel, colorings/flavorings, emulsifiers. If it costs less than 20 shekels (~$5) per Liter, it's probably too good to be true.
If it's not 100% olive oil, it's not even allowed to say "blended olive oil."
The fraudulent oil is a special concern is those with soy allergies, as soy oil can be the adulterant.
They feel that rabbis should not give a hecksher to olive oil that is not 100% olive oil.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4786

The following South African kashrus alert is from the Beth Din of Johannesburg on December 9, 2014.

Food Lovers Peach Slices in Grape Juice erroneously bears a Beth Din logo. This product is NOT kosher.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4788

The following kashrus alert is from the MK on December 8, 2014.

The MK wishes to advise the public that Café Dizengoff, 5500 Westbury, Montreal, QC H3Q 2W8 is no longer certified by the MK with immediate effect.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4787

The following kashrus alert is from the MK on December 8, 2014.

The MK wishes to advise the public that DRIED MUSHROOMS PORCINIS from DION HERBS & SPICES with MK PAREVE SYMBOL are no longer certified kosher and are being recalled. Porcini Kibbled And Porcini Powder are kosher when bearing the MK mark.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4785

The following cashew allergy alert is from the FARE on December 3, 2014.

Clif Bar & Company is initiating a voluntary market withdrawal of 15-packs and 6-packs of White Chocolate Macadamia Gluten Free LUNA® Bars. Although the individual bar wrappers and packs include advisory allergen labeling stating that the product contains cashews and front-of-pack labeling notifying consumers of a new recipe that now includes cashews, some consumers reported they did not see the new recipe call-out or the allergen advisory.
The company is voluntarily withdrawing the bars out of an abundance of caution for people who are allergic to cashews. Only the product meeting the following criteria is affected:

  • Individual bars of White Chocolate Macadamia Gluten Free LUNA® Bars
  • 6-packs of White Chocolate Macadamia Gluten Free LUNA® Bars
  • 15-packs of White Chocolate Macadamia Gluten Free LUNA® Bars
    • UPC Codes: Bar: 7-22252-10067-2
    • 15-count Caddy: 7-22252-20067-9
    • 6 Pack: 7-22252-25071-1

No other LUNA Bar products, pack sizes or flavors are affected. The company is strongly advising consumers who have cashew allergies not to consume these bars and discard them to avoid the possibility of an allergic reaction. People with an allergy to cashews run the risk of serious or life-threatening allergic reaction.
Consumers with questions may contact 1-888-851-8456, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. PDT, Monday-Friday. Details also can be found on the Clif Bar web site http://www.clifbar.com/text/voluntary-recall. Clif Bar & Company cares deeply about the health and safety of consumers and will be making the cashew allergen labeling even more prominent on this bar.
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4784

The following peanut allergy alert is from the FDA on December 5, 2014..

Safeway is voluntarily recalling Safeway Select French Salted Caramel (Fleur De Sel) Premium Ice Cream sold in all Safeway-owned stores from November 4, 2014 through December 5, 2014 due to the inclusion of an undeclared peanut allergen.

Product NameUPC CodeBest Before Date
Safeway Select French Salted Carmel (Fleur De Sel) Premium Ice Cream21130 08970Nov 03 2015

The UPC Code is located on the side panel. The Best Before Date is located on the bottom of the package. The recipe’s caramel cups ingredient was replaced with peanut butter cups due to a supply error.

The recalled Safeway Select French Salted Caramel (Fleur De Sel) Premium Ice Cream was sold in all Safeway, Carrs, Genuardi’s, Pak ‘N Save, Pavilions, Randalls, Tom Thumb and Vons stores throughout the United States.

Customers are asked to discard the product or return it to their local store for a full refund. Customers who have questions about the recall can contact Safeway at 1-877-SAFEWAY.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4783

The following kashrus alert is from the cRc Twitter feed on December 4, 2014 .

We have been informed that the Pepsi products that are kosher in the United States and Canada are also kosher in Mexico.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4782

The following kashrus alert is from the Yeahthankskosher.com confirmed by Rabbi Mehlman and posted on December 3, 2014 .

The House of Cupcakes branches in Wayne and Clifton, NJ are no longer certified as kosher.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4780

The following dairy allergy alert is from the FARE with additional information from the OU on December 3, 2014.

House of Flavors, Inc., Ludington, MI, is voluntarily recalling a small batch of Ciao Bella Dark Cocoa Sorbetto manufactured by House of Flavors because its ingredients may include an undeclared milk allergen.
Only Ciao Bella Dark Cocoa Sorbetto 14oz. plastic containers stamped with UPC code 9951201206 and date code 14102 and marked “Best by Date: October 12, 2015” are affected by the recall. No other Ciao Bella products, or any other Ciao Bella Dark Cocoa Sorbetto, are involved in the recall.
Consumers who have purchased the recalled products should return them to the store where they were purchased for a full refund. Anyone requiring more information should contact House of Flavors consumer affairs at 1-800-930-7740, extension 2229, Monday through Friday 7 a.m. until 5 pm. (EST).

Ed. note: This product is still considered by the OU to be pareve.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4779

The following kashrus alert is from the OU on December 2, 2014.

Golden Age Milk Softness Sunflower Halva, Euro Imports, Brooklyn NY is certified by the Orthodox Union as an OU D – Dairy product. This product contains a dairy ingredient as indicated in the ingredients statement. Corrective measures have been implemented.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/?alert=A4778
Older alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts in hardcopy print media if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2014 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067