K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated
for from

Kosher News and Announcements

The following information has been reprinted with permission  from The Kosher Gram,  Rabbi Beryl Broyde of the Vaad Horabonim/Merkaz of Detroit for October, 1997
Quaker Cereals: Cap'n Crunch's Crunch Berries cereal is now kosher and is certified OU Dairy when bearing the OU-D symbol. Cap'n Crunch's regular and Peanut Butter varieties are OU pareve.  Some boxes of Cap'n Crunch regular andCrunch Berries varieties do not bear an OU or OU-D, due to non-approved samples of Cap'n Crunch  Bars inside. The cereals themselves are  still kosher. -King Vitamin cereal is now Kosher and dairy, when bearing OU-D.

General Mills Cereals:Honey Nut Clusters bear an OU-D and contain non-fat  milk. This replaces the former pareve Clusters Cereal. Honey Nut Cheerio's remain OU Pareve. Some boxes of Trix Cereal bear no OU, because they contain a sample of non-approved Trix Fruit Snacks. The cereal itself remains kosher.

Betty Crocker Fruit Snacks All varieties of Fruit Roll-Ups, Fruit by the Foot, Gushers, and String Things, are currently OU certified Kosher and Pareve. Some boxes of Fruit Roll Ups Variety Pack- 36 rolls mistakenly bear no OU, but are still Kosher. Likewise, the first boxes of Fruit by the Foot's new Berry Tie flavor do not bear an OU. Please note that the following Betty Crocker Fruit Snacks are not Kosher approved and do not bear an OU: Bugs Bunny & Friends Snacks, Shark Bites Snacks and Tazmanian Devil Snacks.

Betty Crocker Cake Mixes: are now all Dairy. This includes Pound Cake Mix and three varieties of Angel Food Cake Mix which were recently reformulated with dairy ingredients. Old boxes still bearing a plain OU are pareve.

Celestial Seasonings Liquid Teas are not kosher approved and bear no kashrus markings.
World Harbors Honey Dijon Sauce & Marinade "For Seafood & Chicken, and World Harbors "Hot Zings (Wing)" Sauce & Marinade- Although obviously intended for meat use, these products have until now contained dariy ingredients and are labeled Kof-K DAIRY. The manufacturer is now eliminating the dairy ingredients, at the Kof-K's request, and the new product will be labeled Kof-K PAREVE.
Ed. note per communication with World Harbors (June 30, 1998): These products should now only be available as pareve. Any dairy product is out of code and should not be used.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/NewCerts/?alert=N0016

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.
Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2018 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067