K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


The following Passover alert is from the editor on February 27, 2013.

There are two kinds of gluten-free matzos on the market. The gluten-free oat or spelt matzos with Pesach certification are usable for Hamotzei and for the seder.  However, the products on the market that does not contain any of the 5 grains, wheat, barley, oats, rye or spelt are not matzah and cannot be used for Seder Matzos or Hamotzie.

The following Passover alert is in response to a question from a reader posted on March 22, 2012.

The gluten free oat Matza can be used instead of regular Matza for certain circumstances. One should ask their rabbi. Yehudah brand Matza style and other matzahs that do not contain any of the 5 grains, wheat, barley, oats, rye or spelt are not Matza at all and the Bracha is Shehakol.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0313

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067