K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


The following Passover information is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Elixirs: Elixirs are made of alcohol, and could be from marc alcohol, which is a derivative of wine. There is also a problem for Pesach - it could be derived from grain. Investigate before using. There are NON-alcoholic elixirs available.

Grain Alcohol from Corn: Alcohol producers, even under kosher certification, have been found to call a product "grain alcohol from corn", even though it may contain as much as 10% or more alcohol derived from wheat. Those accepting kitniyos products for use on Pesach, whether as food or medication, should take note.


The following Passover information is from the CRC posted on March 12, 2015.

Some of the common names of possible chometz alcohol listed as an ingredient in such things as cologne, perfume, hair spray and mouthwash are:

  • Alcohol
  • Ethanol
  • SD Alcohol
  • Denatured Alcohol
  • Ethyl Alcohol

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0405

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067