K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


Newer Passover Alerts

The following Passover information is from the Star-K for Passover 2009.
All fresh packaged salads bearing the Star-K symbol are Kosher for Passover without any additional Passover symbol. Please note exception: Dole Very Veggie Salad Blend contains peas which are Kitniyos and may not be used on Passover.

The following Passover information is from the OU for Passover 2009.
Baby Carrots under the OU are fine to use for Passover without special Passover certification.

The following Passover information is from the cRc for Passover 2009.
Fresh Vegetables: All RAW products from E-Z Spuds, Evanston, IL, may be used for Pesach with the exception of their cole slaw which is a processed product and is not certified for Pesach.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0221

The following Passover information regarding frozen fish is from the OU posted on March 18, 2009.

Frozen fish that contain any ingredient other than fish (except for water and salt) require special Passover certification. Fish that contains no other ingredient other than fish (except for salt and water) does not require special Passover certification.
Ed. note from a reader's question to the OU: The Kirkland Frozen Salmon (from Costco) with an OU is acceptable for use on Passover.
From the Kof-K: The following items are KOF-K Kosher for Passover even without special Passover designation: C Worthy Frozen Raw Salmon- only unseasoned Wholley Whiting Fish Fillets with skin Great Fish Company Frozen Whiting with Skin

The following Passover information regarding canned salmon is from the cRc.
Pillar Rock canned Salmon is accepted for Pesach use, even without the Pesach certification on the label. The Salmon in pouches is not recommended for Pesach.

The Kashrus Status of Raw Fish on Pesach by Rabbi Fishbane of the cRc.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0219

The following Passover information is from the Kof-K for Passover 2009.

Pepsi products which are marked kosher for Passover say sugar and or corn syrup on the label. IN FACT THERE IS NO CORN SYRUP IN IN THE KOSHER FOR PASSOVER PRODUCTS. In addition, the only Pepsi products that are certified for Passover are those with the KOF-K-P or KP on the label or cap. Color coding is not an indication of Passover certification.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0222

The following Passover alert is from the Star-Kon on March 19, 2009.

Please be aware that some matzohs being sold in the Passover sections of local BJ's and Giant stores are chometz and NOT Kosher for Passover. Consumers are always urged to check that boxes state "Passover Matzoh", even if the matzoh is located in Passover sections of stores. Non-Passover matzohs state “Chometz” and “Not For Passover” in small print on the box.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0220

The following revised Passover alert is from Beth Din of Johannesburg on March 24, 2008 and March 18, 2009.

In the days and weeks leading up to Pesach, many supermarkets have dedicated special sections and shelves for Pesach products, both local and imported. The Beth Din does not have any control over the stocking of supermarket shelves, and as such, we cannot guarantee that all items on these shelves are in fact kosher for Pesach. Consumers are advised to check each and every item to ensure that it has a reliable hechsher for Pesach.
Also please be careful when purchasing Israeli imported products, as many of these are kosher for Pesach, but only for those who eat kitniyot. This will be specified on the label, either in Hebrew, English, or both.
Products imported from the USA with the hechsher of the Orthodox Union, and the Star-K, will have either the “OU” (a circle with a “U” inside), or a Star with a “K” inside, printed on the label. The letter “P” next to the symbol will indicate that the product is kosher for Pesach, and not that it is “parev”.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0189

The following Canadian Passover alert is from the COR on March 17, 2009.

We wish to advise that COR certified Kosher for Passover products which contain kitniyos and kitniyos shanishtana bear a distinctive blue label indicating "Kosher for Passover for Sephardim only".
Please note that Saporito Vegetable Oil (2L) and Diet Coke, which bear this label, contain kitniyos.
Even though these items are located in the regular Kosher for Passover supermarket aisles, their use during Passover is intended for Sephardim only.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0218

The following Passover pet food alerts are from the Chicago Rabbinical Council on March 31, 2008 and confirmed for 2009 and March 17, 2009..


Some of the following Evanger’s products may have “Brewers Dried Yeast” listed on the ingredient panel. These products should not be used on Passover even when [incorrectly] bearing “Kosher for Passover” on the label):
CATS: Beef & Liver Dinner, Chicken Dinner, Chicken Liver & Tuna, Seafood Dinner;
DOGS: 100% Beef, All Natural Puppy Food, Beef & Beef By-Products, Beef Chinks Dinner, Beef with Chicken, Beef Chicken & Liver, Beef with Liver, Chicken & Rice Dinner, Chopped Beef Dinner, Chopped Turkey Dinner, Cooked Chicken, Lamb & Rice Dinner, Senior Dinner, Turkey Chunk Stew;

The following information on Passover foods for pets is from various sources and posted on March 17, 2009.


Some common chometz ingredients in pet food from the Star-K:
Wheat (cracked, flour, germ, gluten, ground, grouts, middlings, starch), barley (cracked, flour), oats (flour, grouts, hulled), pasta, rye, and brewer's dried yeast. Any questionable ingredient should be reviewed by a competent rabbinic authority.

Some common ingredients which may be kitniyos but are permitted in pet food:
Beans, buckwheat, brewer’s rice, corn, grain sorghum (milo), millet, peanuts, peas, rice, safflower, sesame, soybeans, soy flour, and sunflower.

Ed.note: A product listing both meat and dairy ingredients may not be used any time during the year.

Ed. Note: Any pet food should be purchased before Passover, so that any possible chometz in the vitamins would be batuled.

From Kosherquest.org: Only clay or wood-based Kitty Litter may be used on Pesach.

Feed available at zoos is often chometz and should not be purchased or fed to the animals on Pesach.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0217

The following Passover alert is from the OU on March 13, 2009.

Dos Anclas Table Salt, Alex Int'l Trading Corp - Siesta Key, Fl: This product mistakenly bears an OU-P symbol and is not certified Kosher for Passover. It is certified for year round use only.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0216

The following Passover alert is from the OK on March 6, 2009.

Please be advised that KARA CANNED COCONUT MILK manufactured by PT. Riau Sakti United Plantations Industry (product of Indonesia) has been incorrectly labeled Kosher Pareve Passover. This product is Kosher pareve; NOT for Passover Corrective measures are being taken. If you see this product on the market, please call us at 718-756-7500.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0215

The following Passover alert is from the OU on January 16, 2009.

TRU Nutrition TRU Chocolate, Youngevity – Chula Vista, CA: This product mistakenly bears an unauthorized OU symbol and is not certified Kosher by the Orthodox Union. Future packaging will be revised. Consumers spotting this product are requested to contact the Orthodox Union at 212-613-8241 or via email at kashalerts@ou.org.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0214
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067