K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


Newer Passover Alerts

The following South African Passover notice is from the UOS on March 19, 2007.

SALLY WILLIAMS have printed special Kosher for Pesach wrappers for their Pesach Nougat. However, their stocks of these labels were depleted and the balance have been wrapped in normal wrappers. These products are still Kosher for Pesach when the box in which they are sold bears a Beth Din Pesach sticker on the outside. Individual nougats should not be purchased for Pesach.

SALLY WILLIAMS Kosher for Pesach Nougat does NOT contain corn oil as stated on the packaging, but a Kosher for Pesach substitute.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0171

The following Passover alert is from the Chicago Rabbinical Council on March 19, 2007.

The cRc Pesach cosmetic list mistakenly list Tommy Hilfiger perfumes as being acceptable for Passover. They are indeed NOT kosher for Passover. We regret the error.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0170

The following Passover alert is from the Kosherquest.net on March 18, 2007.

Bamba Snacks from Osem in Israel is made with corn and peanuts. This product is considered Kitniyos and may not be used by Ashkenazim and some Sephardim.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0169

The following Passover notice is from the Kosherquest.net on March 18, 2007.

Vitasoy San Sui Original Natural soy milk and Soy Dream Original Un-Enriched soy milk do not contain Chometz.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0168

The following Passover alert is from the Chicago Rabbincial Council on March 14, 2007.

Confectioners Sugar packed under the Jewel/Albertson's label mistakenly bears a United Mehadrin Kosher-P (resembling a Shield K) certification for Passover. This product, as stated on the ingredient panel, contains corn starch which is Kitniyos. The Passover label was not authorized and is being withdrawn from the market.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0167

The following Passover information on salads is from the Star-K, OV, and OU posted March 9, 2007 and the KOAOA on March 13, 2007.

As a consumer service, Dole is putting a Star-K-P on the products that are kosher for Passover. Dole salads only bearing the plain Star-K (no "P") are acceptable for Passover, as well. Each bag of salad should be checked for proper certification.

Baby Carrots under the OU are fine to use for Passover without special Passover certification.

Salads under the Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis (OV) are certified year-round and not for Passover.

Sams Clubs, some Costco salads and Sysco - food service, bearing the KOAOA symbol would be acceptable for Pesach, however, the consumer should spot check for insects.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0165

The following Passover notice is from the Chicago Rabbincial Council on March 12, 2007.

2 liter bottles of Coke and Diet Coke produced for the Chicago and Midwest area, were mistakenly sealed with a cap bearing "cRc P-06". These products were indeed made for the 2007 Passover season and can be used without concern of kashrus or freshness.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0166

The following Passover alert is from cRC on March 9, 2007.
Due to a reformulation of Benefiber, originally listed on several Pesach lists as being approved for use, has now been found to contain actual chometz.

The following additional infommation is from Rabbi Bess on March 9, 2007.
The new formulation of the Benefiber Over-the-counter has switched from Guar gum to wheat dextrin. If it has wheat dextrin it will state so on the label. If it is still the old formulation it will state guar gum [the maltodextrin in the ingredient is from corn]. This applies to the powder, chewable and tablet forms.
The brand name "Resource Benefiber" is the "industrial size" and that remains from Guar gum and not wheat dextrin. The OTC form is not called Resource. If it states Resource on the label it is Ok. If it does not, one must check to see if it is the new formulation or not.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0164

The following Passover reminder is from the Kashrut.com editor posted on March 8. 2007.

Check all purchases for the kosher and Passover symbol. Non-kosher for Passover products may be mixed in with the Passover products.

Regarding pet foods: Make sure to check all labels. Some acceptable varieties have names which are very similar to unacceptable formulations. There should be no chometz such as wheat, wheat starch, wheat gluten, barley, oats, oat fiber, pasta, or rye listed. A product listing both meat and dairy ingredients may not be used any time during the year. Feed available at zoos is often chometz and should not be purchased or fed to the animals on Pesach.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0152

The following Passover alert is from OU on Febuary 28, 2007.

Ma Cohen's Assorted Herring Products, Sea Fare Foods, Detroit, MI: Ma Cohen's Herring Products are certified kosher for Passover when manufactured under special supervision. A limited number of products were manufactured without Passover supervision and were distributed while bearing an unauthorized OU-P symbol. These products have a date code system listing the month, date, and year (i.e. Jan1608). The mislabeled products are being withdrawn from the marketplace. Customers are encouraged to contact the Orthodox Union at 212-613-8148 or via email at if the mislabeled products are found.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0163
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067