K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated
for from

Passover Kashrut Alerts

Newer Passover Alerts

The following Passover alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Toasters and toaster-ovens: Manufacturers of toasters and toaster-ovens (and those who repair them) check their products with bread. It is recommended that when buying or repairing toasters or toaster ovens, one should check visually for actual bread particles. For toasters, clean the metal bread holder and the crumb tray, and place the toaster on the toasting cycle. Toaster ovens need only koshering of the tray insert. Thorough koshering of the tray may warp it. The recommended methods are to turn on the toasting cycle or to do the same while the tray is filled with water. Toasters and toaster-ovens known to have been used for Chometz CANNOT be koshered for Pesach. Just clean and put away.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0429

The following Passover alert is from the Seattle Vaad on March 31, 2015.

Bottles of Glicks Teryaki Sauce included in Passover orders filled by Affordable Kosher are NOT kosher for Passover and contain real chametz. Any food prepared using this product should not be used on Passover. Please consult your Rabbi to advise you as to the status of the utensils in which this product may have been used.
As always, the Vaad advises the consumer to check every product used for Passover to ascertain its status as Kosher for Passover even if it comes from a vendor as part of a Passover order or is in a Kosher for Passover display in a grocery store.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0432

The following Passover alert is from Kosherquest.org posted on March 31, 2015.

Lactaid drops may contain Chometz. Therefore, they should be added to milk before Pesach to have the Chometz annulled in sixty times the amount of milk, applesauce etc.
Lactaid Drops - (NOT Tablets) If needed, it must be added to milk or other dairy products before Pesach.
Lactaid Milk - Must be purchased before Pesach (may contain small amount of actual Chometz)
Lactaid tablets may contain Chometz.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0430

The following Passover alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Tofu: Tofu is NOT acceptable for Pesach even for Sefaradim. Tofu is made by an extraction method that uses grain alcohol in the processing of soybeans.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0428

The following Passover kashrus alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Honey imported from Turkey and China: Honey imported from Turkey, even when bearing a kosher symbol, should be suspected all year round for adulteration. For Pesach, it should NOT be used without proper "Kosher for Pesach" certification. One brand of "honey" from turkey was found to contain 100% corn or cane syrup – no honey whatsoever in the product! The kosher certification displayed was unauthorized. Honey from China should also be avoided.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0426

The following Passover kashrus alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Schick’s Bakery Raspberry Rugelach certified for Pesach by the OU, the KAJ and the CRC, were mislabeled as pareve. They are dairy as indicated on the ingredients panel which lists milk, cheese and butter.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0425

The following Passover information is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Elixirs: Elixirs are made of alcohol, and could be from marc alcohol, which is a derivative of wine. There is also a problem for Pesach - it could be derived from grain. Investigate before using. There are NON-alcoholic elixirs available.

Grain Alcohol from Corn: Alcohol producers, even under kosher certification, have been found to call a product "grain alcohol from corn", even though it may contain as much as 10% or more alcohol derived from wheat. Those accepting kitniyos products for use on Pesach, whether as food or medication, should take note.

The following Passover information is from the CRC posted on March 12, 2015.

Some of the common names of possible chometz alcohol listed as an ingredient in such things as cologne, perfume, hair spray and mouthwash are:

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0405

The South African Passover notice is from the Beth Din of Johannesburg on March 27, 2015.

BUTTER: The following butters with a manufacturing date on or after 1 February 2015 are Kosher for Pesach
They do not have a Pesach sticker and are not Chalav Yisrael

EITAN VAAL: Please note that all pre-washed Eitan Vaal products available as from Monday 30 March 2015 are to be considered as insect free.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0424

The Passover alert is from Kosher Miami on March 29, 2015.

Please be advised that the nuts sold as Kosher for Passover from Jossef Roasting at 19808 West Dixie Highway, Miami, FL actually contain Kitniyos, even though not marked as such on the packaging. Corrective measures are being taken to correct the packaging.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0423

The Passover information is from the Kof-K on March 23, 2015.

KOF-K is pleased to certify PEPSI New York Kosher for Passover2015
The followingvarieties are certified Kosher L’Pesach when bearing the KOF-K Passover symbol on the cap or can:

A limited production of Passover certified Pepsi Cola 2 liter incorrectly lists cornsweetener in the ingredient legend.
The product wasmanufactured with Kosher L’Pesach Sugar sweetener and is certified Kosher L’Pesach by the KOF-K.

The kosher symbol on a soda is the symbol of the agency certifying the bottling plant. So, in other locations, Passover certified products may bear a KP or the kosher symbol with a P.
The areas where the Passover Pepsi was produced is New York area, New Jeresy, Florida and IndianaBottlers who have ordered KFP product are located in Piscataway, NJ, Riviera Beach, FL, College Point, NY and Munster, IN.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0422
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2018 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067