K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated
for from
to

Passover Kashrut Alerts


Newer Passover Alerts

Ashkenazim: Be aware of Matzah Ashira products

March 23, 2016 - From the Kosherquest.org:

Caution should be used when buying Matzos to be sure that they are no in the category of "Matzah Ashira". Some brands that produce Matzah Ashira are; Aviv, Hagada, Holiday, Horowitz Margareten, Jerusalem, King Star, Manischewitz, Matzot Carmel, Osem, Rishon, Shibolim, Shoprite, Yanovsky and Yehuda. Some types of Matzah Ashira include:

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0442

Certain Ancient Harvest Quinoa Products Usable for Passover without the "P"

March 2, 2016 - From the Star-K:

The following Ancient Harvest Quinoa products are usable for Passover without Passover certification on the package:

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0440

Info on whether Various Meat Products are Usable for Passover without Passover certification

Feb. 22, 2016 - From the OU in response to a reader's and the editor's questions:

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0439

The following kashrus alert is from the OK on July 17, 2015.

Domino Creamer, Domino Sugar, Yonkers, NY: A very limited amount of Domino Creamer has been packed with an OK-P (Passover) symbol instead of the OK-D (Dairy) symbol. Please be aware this product is kosher and dairy – NOT certified for Passover.
If any consumer has this product, he should call the 800# on the canister. The product will either be replaced or a voucher will be issued.
Corrective action has been taken.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0437

THE ALERTS THAT ARE BELOW THIS ARE FROM PASSOVER 2015. SOME OF THESE PRODUCTS MIGHT BE AROUND DUE TO A LONG SHELF LIFE OR THE PROBLEMS INVOLVED ARE STILL RELEVENT.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0436

The South African Passover notice is from the Beth Din of Johannesburg on April 1, 2015.

APPROVED BABY CEREALS
Preferably one should use baby cereal that is Kosher for Pesach.
If the above is not available then the following, although containing Kitniyot, may be used for babies only. However they should be used in separate vessels with separate utensils and washing-up facilities (that will not be used with Kosher for Pesach food items and utensils).

There is no Kosher for Pesach baby cereal locally produced.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0435

The following Passover information is from the Atlanta Kashruth Commission on April 1, 2015.

Raw Turbinado Sugar does not require KFP.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0434

The following Passover information is from the Atlanta Kashruth Commission on April 1, 2015.

Milk for Passover: It is preferable to use Kosher for Passover (KFP) milk, but any milk may be used if purchased BEFORE Passover.
Kroger Brand unflavored milk (Homogenized (whole) milk, 2%, 1%, Skim milk) bearing plant #13-250, the letters “AKC-P” on the inkjet of the container and an expiration date of APRIL 4 – APRIL 29 is Kosher for Passover.

Juice for Passover: Kroger Brand Orange Juice without Calcium, bearing plant #13-250, the letters “AKC-P” on the inkjet of the container, and an expiration date of APRIL 14 – MAY 15.

Atlanta Fresh Heavy Whipping Cream from Atlanta Fresh Artesian Creamery with an AKC (at Whole Foods) is acceptable for Passover.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0427

The following Passover information on nuts posted on April 2, 2015.

From the Scroll-K: Midget Pecans and Pecan Pieces are soaked in an alcohol bath to remove insects. These pieces should NOT be used for Pesach. Whole and half pecans can be produced "Kosher for Passover".

From the cRc: Whole, slivered, or chopped nuts are acceptable without Passover Certification whether in or out of the shell, except if they are (a) blanched or roasted (all varieties), (b) finely ground into a powder, such as almond flour, (c) contain BHT or BHA, (d) shelled pecans (all varieties), or (e) peanuts (which are kitnios).

From the OU: Raw nuts in their shell do not require Passover certification.
Shelled nuts that list BHA or BHT (preservatives) in the ingredients require special Passover certification. They are sprayed on the nuts using corn derivatives (kitniyot). If no additives are added, they may be used without special Passover certification.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0431

The following Passover information is from the cRc on April 1, 2015.

Antibiotics, all forms (liquids included) are Acceptable for Passover without Passover Certification.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0433
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2018 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067