K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated
for from

Passover Kashrut Alerts

Passover Advisory Dannon Yogurts

April 3, 2018 - from OU:

Dannon has produced some varieties of yogurt certified for Passover when bearing the OUDP symbol. Some 4-packs of yogurt contain a combination of year round OUD (Not Kosher for Passover) yogurts and OUDP (Kosher for Passover) yogurts. Consumers are advised to only use the OUDP yogurts for Passover. The Not Kosher for Passover yogurts do not contain actual chometz, however, we are still advising to set them aside for use after Passover.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0523

Passover alert concerning cheeses

March 23, 2018 - from COR Detroit:

The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0522

ESKD Kosher for Passover Broccoli Kugel contains kitniyos

March 27, 2018, - from the Scroll K:

East Side Kosher Deli Broccoli Kugel from its Kosher for Passover menu inadvertently contains kitniyos. (Item may be returned to store for a full refund.)

The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0521

Correction to the MK Passsover Guide

March 27, 2018, - from the MK:


FISH: Only fresh fish do not require a special Pesach Hechsher. Canned and Processed Fish are only acceptable with special Pesach Hechsher.

Salmon and Tuna are listed separately and require Hashgacha when canned or processed. The listing on canned and processed fish is an unfortunate error. Only fresh fish can be consumed for Pesach without a Hechsher.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0520

Passover Alert - Coca Cola from Israel

March 27, 2018, - Kosher Miami:

It has come to the attention of Kosher Miami that Coca Cola Zero in black 330 ml cans from Israel are NOT kosher for Passover, even though they have been sold in stores together with the kosher for Passover Coca Cola products.
The distributor of this product has apologized for this error, and the stores are being alerted to this error.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0519

Passover Alert - Gefen Pitted Manzanilla Olives

March 27, 2018, - From VK Volove kashrus:

Please note that there is a printing error on Gefen Pitted Manzanilla Olives with expiration date of Nov 22 2019.
The Hebrew wording states it is Kosher for Passover Pareve, and the English wording states Not For Passover Use.
Please note that this product is NOT Kosher for Passover.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0518

Passover and Kosher Alert - non-kosher Shank bones in the kosher or Passover section of supermarkets

March 26, 2018, - From Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis & the editor:

Since many St. Louisans shop at Jewel in Chicago, the Rabbanim Achrayim of the Vaad Hoeir asked that the following cRc alert be posted:
Publix Passover Alert: Some non-kosher shank bones (not in kosher packaging) were inadvertently distributed from the Publix Toco Hills Kosher Deli between Monday March 19 and Wednesday March 21

Ed. note: Be aware that many supermarkets such as Shaw's in Canton, MA put traife "shank bones" in the kosher department.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0517

Alert concerning Kosher Cook knives sold at Jewel

March 26, 2018, - From Vaad Hoeir of St. Louis:

Since many St. Louisans shop at Jewel in Chicago, the Rabbanim Achrayim of the Vaad Hoeir asked that the following cRc alert be posted:
Please be aware that Jewel was selling knives and peelers from the Kosher Cook company that printed (in Hebrew) "naaseh b'baalus yehudi - ein tzarich tevillah”. This statement would be true if these items would not have left Jewish ownership at any time. However, once a non-Jew (or even a partnership of a Jew and non-Jew - such as with Jewel) takes possession of the knife, if a Jew purchased it afterwards he will be required to toivel the knife. Please note that once alerted to the issues, Jewel pulled these items from the shelves, but for all those that have already purchased them it is important to toivel them before further use.

  • The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0516

    Correction to information in 2018 THE LAWS OF PESACH: A DIGEST by Rabbi Blumenkrantz

    March 25, 2018, - From Rabbi Blumenkranz:

    1. Please be advised that due to recent updated information Gerbers brand Carrots and Gerbers brand Squash With a plain OU listed under Baby food as permissible lechatchila even for Adults on page 212 in the 2018 "LAWS OF PESACH: A DIGEST" by Rabbi Blumenkrantz, refers to ADULTS WHO ARE INFIRM OR ILL ONLY.
    2. Please be advised that on page 274 in the 2018 "THE LAWS OF PESACH: A DIGEST" by Rabbi Blumenkrantz under the Moisturizers, creams and lotions listing, It lists Aveeno stress relief moisturizing lotion MAY be used for Pesach. However this product DOES contain Chometz and CAN NOT be used on Pesach.

    The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0515

    Israel: Tnuva Pesach Labeling

    March 23, 2018, - From the Jerusalem Kosher News:

    "Tnuva Pesach Labeling of Products

    1. Tnuva dairy products that say כשר לפסח have no kitnios, including regular non-mehadrin products.
      A product only contains kitniot if it says כשר לפסח-קיטניות.
    2. Vaad Mehadrin products that are Kosher for Pesach do not say כשר לפסח מהדרין. Both Eida Chareidis and Vaad Mehadrin products are certified for Pesach by each organization respectively when the appropriate kosher symbols of each organization are there and the words “כשר לפסח ערב פסח“ appear.

    “כשר לפסח ערב פסח” is the wording for Pesach Mehadrin.

    All Mehadrin Production Halts Before Pesach
    This is because there is absolutely no mehadrin production on Pesach. All mehadrin production halts before the time chametz is prohibited on erev Pesach. This is another step towards maintaining a mehadrin line – permitting any grain of chametz that may have passed the array of filtration systems to become batul before yomtov. Since chametz is prohibited in any amount on Pesach, this step is a major one for anything that existed before the chag has become batul, and there is no production on the chag itself. "Filtration is performed shortly following milking to avoid a situation in which a grain of chametz may have remained in a container of milk for 24 hours, leading some to become concerned with 'kavush'."

    Non Chametz Feed for the Herd
    "Beginning a week before Pesach, the stables are cleaned and the feed given to the herd is changed. The Pesach diet does not contain anything chametz, a step taken to satisfy the most stringent opinions. This entails cleaning, preparing and inspecting hundreds of dairy facilities under Tnuva’s supervision. Mashgichim are present to supervise harvesting tens of thousands of dunams of wheat fields towards preparing the special Pesach diet for the Tnuva herd."

    The previous item can be cited with the URL: https://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0514
    Older Passover Alerts

    The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

    Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
    כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

    Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
    © Copyright 2018 Scharf Associates
    Phone: (781)784-6890 
    E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
    URL: " https://www.kashrut.com/"
    Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
    Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
    Scharf Associates
    P.O. Box 50
    Sharon, MA 02067