K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


Newer Passover Alerts

The following Passover alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Tofu: Tofu is NOT acceptable for Pesach even for Sefaradim. Tofu is made by an extraction method that uses grain alcohol in the processing of soybeans.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0428

The following Passover kashrus alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Honey imported from Turkey and China: Honey imported from Turkey, even when bearing a kosher symbol, should be suspected all year round for adulteration. For Pesach, it should NOT be used without proper "Kosher for Pesach" certification. One brand of "honey" from turkey was found to contain 100% corn or cane syrup – no honey whatsoever in the product! The kosher certification displayed was unauthorized. Honey from China should also be avoided.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0426

The following Passover kashrus alert is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Schick’s Bakery Raspberry Rugelach certified for Pesach by the OU, the KAJ and the CRC, were mislabeled as pareve. They are dairy as indicated on the ingredients panel which lists milk, cheese and butter.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0425

The following Passover information is from the Scroll-K on March 30, 2015.

Elixirs: Elixirs are made of alcohol, and could be from marc alcohol, which is a derivative of wine. There is also a problem for Pesach - it could be derived from grain. Investigate before using. There are NON-alcoholic elixirs available.

Grain Alcohol from Corn: Alcohol producers, even under kosher certification, have been found to call a product "grain alcohol from corn", even though it may contain as much as 10% or more alcohol derived from wheat. Those accepting kitniyos products for use on Pesach, whether as food or medication, should take note.


The following Passover information is from the CRC posted on March 12, 2015.

Some of the common names of possible chometz alcohol listed as an ingredient in such things as cologne, perfume, hair spray and mouthwash are:

  • Alcohol
  • Ethanol
  • SD Alcohol
  • Denatured Alcohol
  • Ethyl Alcohol

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0405

The South African Passover notice is from the Beth Din of Johannesburg on March 27, 2015.

BUTTER: The following butters with a manufacturing date on or after 1 February 2015 are Kosher for Pesach
They do not have a Pesach sticker and are not Chalav Yisrael

  • MOOIRIVER – salted butter
  • SPRINGBOK – unsalted butter

EITAN VAAL: Please note that all pre-washed Eitan Vaal products available as from Monday 30 March 2015 are to be considered as insect free.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0424

The Passover alert is from Kosher Miami on March 29, 2015.

Please be advised that the nuts sold as Kosher for Passover from Jossef Roasting at 19808 West Dixie Highway, Miami, FL actually contain Kitniyos, even though not marked as such on the packaging. Corrective measures are being taken to correct the packaging.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0423

The Passover information is from the Kof-K on March 23, 2015.

KOF-K is pleased to certify PEPSI New York Kosher for Passover2015
The followingvarieties are certified Kosher L’Pesach when bearing the KOF-K Passover symbol on the cap or can:

  • Canada Dry Ginger Ale – Regular,Diet
  • Dr. Brown’s Cherry & Cream –Regular, Diet
  • Pepsi Cola – Regular, Diet, Caffeine Free
  • Schweppes Seltzer & Club Soda
  • Sierra Mist – Regular, Diet

A limited production of Passover certified Pepsi Cola 2 liter incorrectly lists cornsweetener in the ingredient legend.
The product wasmanufactured with Kosher L’Pesach Sugar sweetener and is certified Kosher L’Pesach by the KOF-K.

The kosher symbol on a soda is the symbol of the agency certifying the bottling plant. So, in other locations, Passover certified products may bear a KP or the kosher symbol with a P.
The areas where the Passover Pepsi was produced is New York area, New Jeresy, Florida and IndianaBottlers who have ordered KFP product are located in Piscataway, NJ, Riviera Beach, FL, College Point, NY and Munster, IN.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0422

The following Passover information is from the CRC posted on March 12, 2015 with correction below on March 26, 2015.

Ground coffee beans (not instant coffee) packed at the coffee bean company that are not flavored or decaf, are fine without Passover certification. However, if the coffee is ground at a retail store, you must be certain that the grinding machine is completely clean, which may be close to impossible to do.

All Green Mountain non-flavored and non-decaf "K" cups with the plain OU is acceptable for Pesach this year.

K-Cup coffees and teas now require Passover certification even if the contents are just plain unflavored coffee and tea. The brewers may not be used on Yom Tov or Shabbos and the brewer must be one that is only used for Passover.

Correction: Starbucks OU certified VIA coffee (unflavored)is certified for Passover. Decaffeinated is not certified for Passover.

From a reader: Nespresso is certified for Passover by the Rabbanut of Basel (see picture)

Instant coffee- regular

  • Folgers Special Roast Instant Coffee, Regular-Pareve-OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required.
  • Nescafe Taster's Choice: Taster's Choice Instant Coffee Regular (All Sizes) Pareve OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required.
  • Nescafe Taster's Choice: Taster's Choice Instant Coffee Regular Single Serve Packets Pareve OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required.
  • Elite Instant Coffee 200gm Pareve OU-P Kosher for Passover ONLY when bearing special certification. Symbol required.

Instant coffee- Decaf

  • Folgers Classic Decaf Instant Pareve OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required.
  • Ellis Coffee Decaf Pareve OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required.
  • Folgers Gourmet Supreme Coffee, Decaf Pareve OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required.
  • Hena Decafe (Non Flavored) Coffee Pareve OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required.
  • Brooklyn Coffee House Decafe (Non Flavored) Coffee Pareve OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required.
  • Elite Instant Coffee 200gm Pareve OU-P Kosher for Passover ONLY when bearing special certification. Symbol required.
  • Folgers Special Roast Instant Coffee, Regular Pareve OU Kosher for Passover without special certification. Symbol required

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0407

The Passover advisory is from the Kosherquest.org on March 23, 2015.

Resource Benefiber is only Kosher for Pesach when ordered specially from Nestle Nutrition and made from guar gum. the regular Benefiber product, produced by Novartis, is made from wheat dextrin and is Chometz.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0421

The Passover advisory is from the Kosherquest.org on March 23, 2015.

Nestea Instant Tea is only Kosher for Pesach Regular Unflavored. Decaffeinated is not approved for Pesach.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0420
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2015 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067