K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


Newer Passover Alerts

The following Passover information on milk replacements is from the Star-K and the OU and OU posted on March 22, 2010.

The following soy milks do not contain any chometz ingredients:

  • Vitasoy San Sui Original Natural soy milk
  • Soy Dream Original un-enriched soy milk
  • ZenSoy Refrigerated Half Gallon- organic vanilla, plain chocolate

Blue Diamond Almond Breeze, does not contain chametz and the kitniyot is batul (nullified).

Rice milk can be made with beta amalyze an enzyme derived from barley which is chametz and would make the rice milk chametz. The following brands of OU Kosher pareve original or plain rice milk do not contain any chametz, but are kitniyot:

  • Clearly Organic
  • Full Circle
  • Harris Teeter
  • Hy-Vee
  • Market Basket
  • Meijer
  • Nature's Place
  • Nature's Promise
  • Price Chopper
  • RicePure
  • RiceSense
  • Shop Rite
  • Wild Harvest
  • Wild Oats

These products should be purchased before Passover, at which point any traces of chometz would be batul (nullified).

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0243

The following Passover alert is from the Kof-K on March 17, 2010.

A limited production of 5 SPOKE CREAMERY CHEESES were inadvertently labeled as kosher for passover. These items are not certified for passover. Future labeling has been corrected. Product bearing the KOF-K symbol remain certified for year round use.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0242

The following Passover alert is from the UOS on March 19, 2010.

Danish Herring from Delavi (aka B&B Wholesalers) has been recalled and is NOT Kosher for Pesach, despite bearing an official Beth Din sticker stating that the product is Kosher for Pesach: Keilim (utensils) are not affected.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0241

The following Passover alert is from the COR on March 18, 2010.

Please be advised that the following products bearing date code 0680 only mistakenly bear the Kosher for Passover label.

  • Little Rachel's Chicken Breast Nuggets, 400gr, COR 369
  • Little Rachel's Chicken Breast Fingers, 400gr, COR 369
  • Little Rachel's Chicken Breast Cutlets, 400gr, COR 369
  • Lazar Yitzchok Beef Burgers, 907gr, COR 369
These products should not be used on Passover, but are kosher for year-round use. These products have been removed from the stores, however, a few items were sold to the public prior to their removal. Any other date code, when bearing the Kosher for Passover label, is Kosher for Passover.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0240

The following Passover notice is from Rabbi Gruber and Paskesz on March 18, 2010.

Paskesz-Frutios Cereal for Passover had a text misprint on the ingredient list. Contrary to the package declaration, there is NO cochineal color in the product. Letter from Rabbi Gruber is attached here

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0239

Information on vegetables:

The following Passover notice is from the Star-K on March 17, 2010.
Dole Vegetable and Fruit products bearing a Star-K are usable for Passover without the P.

The following Passover notice is from the OV on March 17, 2010.
For use of the salads certified by the OV for Passover, letter P must appear next to the OV.

The following Passover information is from the OU for Passover 2010.

  • Baby Carrots under the OU are fine to use for Passover without special Passover certification.
  • The Bodek salad products usable without a P for Pesach.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0236

The following Passover alert is from the kosherquest on March 22, 2009 and March 17, 2010.

The difference between the two types of Ko-Sure Hot Chocolate Mixes. One - Instant Hot Cocoa Mix has the Star-Kp and is Kosher for Pesach. The other Kos-Sure Chocolate Mocha Mix (also under the Star-K) is NOT Kosher for Pesach.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0225

The following revised Passover alert is from the United Mehadrin Kosher on March 17, 2010.

Great Value Confectioners Powdered Sugar sold by Walmart was mistakenly labled UMK-P, while it is kosher it does contain cornstarch and is not kosher for passover. Corrective action is being taken.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0238

The following Passover alert is from a number of sources and the editor on March 16, 2009.
Always check each and every item you buy to make sure it carries a Pesach Hechsher from a reliable Kashrut authority – even if you find it on the “Pesach” shelves of the supermarket. In addition, there are a number of products that are certified as kosher for Sephardim on the shelves, even in areas with few Sephardim. These products are not usable for Ashkenazim for Passover.

Do not assume that when making a purchase at a non- kosher certified store that the products you are buying are free of chometz, or even kosher. Finding it in "the kosher aisle" is meaningless in these stores, as there is no guarantee that the store clerk did not place the product on the shelf in error. There is also no guarantee that another shopper did not place one of the items they intended to buy but changed their mind, in the kosher section after changing their mind. Many packages look alike. Please inspect each individual item that you are purchasing for a reliable kosher and/or kosher L’Pesach certification.

Some kosher brands with almost identical labels for Passover and non-Passover products are Telma soup mixes and cubes, Osem, Gefen, Haddar, Manischewitz, Empire and Aaron's.

Many food producers, supermarkets, restaurants and caterers are advertising "Passover" products that ARE NOT KOSHER and are therefore not certified as kosher for Pasover.

Whole Foods is offering fish grinding in some stores. These fish counters are not certified by any rabbinic organization.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0237

The following Passover alert is from the Rabbi Weismandl on March 5, 2010 in response to an incorrect notice posted by a kashrus agency.

Some Lieber's chocolate coins had Kosher for Pesach mistakenly engraved on a wrapper. There are no Passover certified Lieber's Chocolate Coins .

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0235
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067