K A S H R U T . C O M©

The Premier Kosher Information Source on the Internet


HOME | PASSOVER | CONSUMER | COMMERCIAL | TRAVEL | ZEMANIM | LINKS | ARTICLES | RECIPES | HUMOR | E-MAIL LIST

Subscribe to get e-mail when this site is updated

Passover Kashrut Alerts


Newer Passover Alerts

The following Passover nut allergy alert is from a alert consumer for Passover, 2005.

Gefen brand Pesach noodles, which are potato flour based (rather than matza meal) contain WALNUT oil.
ed. note: Consumers with allergies should always check ingredient lists.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0129

The following Passover alert is from the Kosherquest.org for Passover, 2005 with some additions from the editor.

Many Kitniyos products on the market are certified as Kosher, especially from France and other European countries. These Kitniyos products are often in the form of candym snacks and canned goods. Many of these products will say “LeOchlay Kitniyos”, but not all, such as Affula Sunflower Seeds etc.which is stamped “Kosher for Pesach” under the certification of Rabbi Gavriel Cohen. These are meant only for those Sephardim who have the Minhag to eat Kitniyos.

ed. note: The following are additional kitniot products:

  • Olivia Gourmet Sauces and Salad Dressings: Label states OU- not for Passover; top of Jar, Kosher for Passover- kitniot.
  • Ethnic Delights- Pesto
  • Bamba Peanut Snacks
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0112

The following Passover alert is from the Chicago Rabbinical Council on April 17, 2005.

Itzkowitz Lemonade Soft Drink Mix bearing the KAJ-P and the logo of Rabbi Aharon Teitelbaum, the Nirbater Rav, lists corn starch in the ingredients. There is no cornstarch in this product.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0128

The following Passover information is from the Chicago Rabbinical Council on April 17, 2005.

The following additional products have been found to be chometz free: Blistex: lip balm, lip ointment, silk and shine, complete moisture, fruit smoothies. Gas-X extra strength gel, w/ Maalox.Triaminic: cold & allergy liquid, cold & cough liquid, cough & congestion liquid, cough liquid.

From the countless calls on perfumes and deodorants, this a short list that many consumers have asked about and (particularly the spray deodorants for Shabbos use) are fine to use: Gillette Series Aerosol Body Spray [All], Right Guard Extreme Cool Spray Aeroso Antiperspirant, Tag Aerosol Body Spray [All], Right Guard Xtreme Cool Spray Aerosol Antipers [All], Right Guard Xtreme Aerosol Body Spray, Chanel Chanel Fragrances (All), Estee Lauder Cologne, Perfume, Revlon Fragrances, Ultima II Fragrances, Ultima II Sheer Scent.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0127

The following Passover alert is from the Chicago Rabbinical Council on April 17, 2005.

Lactaid Milk must be purchased before Pesach. Lactaid drops, if available, must also be purchased and added to the milk before Pesach. Lactaid pills contain chometz and do NOT fall into the category of pill medication. They may not be used on Pesach. If an individual who is lactose intolerant must drink milk or consume other dairy products on Pesach, an Orthodox Rabbi should be consulted.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0126

The following Passover alert is from the Chicago Rabbinical Council on April 17, 2005.

Explanation and Clarification: As mentioned in the letter signed by community Rabbonim, restorable denatured alcohol may be listed in the ingredient panel in many different fashions, all of which could be problematic. They include: SD, SDA, alcohol, denatured alcohol, specially denatured alcohol, ethyl alcohol.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0125

The following Passover alert is from Chicago Rabbinical Council on April 17, 2005.
In regard to quinoa, the brands that are acceptable for Pesach are Ancient Harvest and Trader Joe's, both only with the "half moon K". Other brands may be made in plants that also process chometz.

The following Passover alert is from Kosher Overseers and OK Laboratories on April 6, 2005.
Quinoa bearing the Kosher Overseers symbol is usable for Passover without Passover designation.

Quinoa bearing the OK symbol is produced in a chometz containing facilty.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0117

The following Passover alert is from the Chicago Rabbinical Council on April 17, 2005.

Please note that there are some flavors of Tums that have real chometz while others are safek chometz. Therefore, the cRc recommends that all antacids be purchased with a reliable Hechsher for Pesach. Additionally, those which were deemed acceptable last year, is not necessarily acceptable for Pesach this year. Product remaining from last year should NOT be used, as there may be problems with that, as well.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0124

The following Passover alert is from the cRc on April 17, 2005.

Correction: In the cRc Pesach guide, Seltzer was on the list of items that are able to be bought without special Passover supervision before Pesach. Due to new information, Seltzer can only be bought with a reliable Pesach hashgocha.

The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0123

The following Passover alert is from the cRc and the OU for Passover, 2005.

Cocoa Powder Alert: It has recently come to the attention of the cRc that there are plants in Europe that add citric acid (which may be kitniyos or chametz) to alter the PH level. Based on this, the cRc has removed cocoa powder from the "Products Not Requiring Supervision" list. Cocoa powder should only be purchased with a Passover symbol or if it could be verified that the powder was not processed in Europe.

The OU passover guide lists the following as not needing a Passover hecksher:

  • COCOA POWDER  DE ZAAN, Pure Cocoa (except for those that have a “SOL” Designation), ADM Cocoa Div. of ADM Co., Tarrytown, NY
  • HERSHEY CHOCOLATE, Hershey Foods Corp., Hershey, PA
  • NESTLE PETERS, Nestle USA Beverage Division, Glendale, CA
The previous item can be cited with the URL: http://www.kashrut.com/Passover/PAlerts/?alert=P0122
Older Passover Alerts

The information posted is from secondary sources. We cannot take responsibility for the accuracy of the information.

Copyright © kashrut.com. Permission is granted to reprint these alerts if kashrut.com is credited as the source of the information.
כל האומר דבר בשם אומרו, מביא גאלה לעולם אבות ו"ו

Comments to webmaster@kashrut.com 
© Copyright 2017 Scharf Associates
Phone: (781)784-6890 
E-mail: ajms@kashrut.com
URL: " http://www.kashrut.com/"
 
Arlene J. Mathes-Scharf  
Food Scientist - Kosher Food Specialist
 
Scharf Associates
P.O. Box 50
Sharon, MA 02067